A complete beginner with unusual conditions

• 12 Replies

Boatdweller

A complete beginner with unusual conditions
« on: May 16, 2012, 16:23 »
Hello all,

My first ever post and looking for some advice.  I have wanted to grow my own veg for years now and it has been continually pushed down the 'to do' list. However, I am determined to start and so looking for tips on where to get the basics explained to me.

As my username suggests, I live on a boat so any growing is going to be confined to containers on the deck (albeit a quite large deck!).

The things I am looking to find out before I get going are...

Is it going to be a problem that my growing area is so exposed? When the sun appears it is scorching on deck and when the wind blows, it is very exposed.

What veg like container growing? Obviously I want to grow things I will eat but would like to know which vegetables are likely to put up with an inexperienced gardener.

Is it worth me looking into composting? Or is this just necessary for larger plots? And is it even possible in my circumstances?

A website or similar where I can find out about the terms I see so often on other pages, 'Chitting' 'Pinching out' etc.

Any advice and pointers much appreciated!

RichardA

Re: A complete beginner with unusual conditions
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2012, 16:35 »
one of Johns books is if I remeber correctly about growing in small spaces - might be a place to start.
My own first thought - grow herbs, baby leeks and carrots, cress and salad stuff - high value in small area, usually quite tough and if not can be lifted around to protect it from cold or sun. Many leaves are edible even if plants never reach full size such as peas, beetroot, etc.
I am sure others will have ideas -- go for it. You can even grow watercress - seriously yes you can by using pots stood on trays of water.
R

azubah

• www.Godsaves.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2012, 17:37 »