whats wrong?

• 3 Replies

loretta cluck

• Experienced Member
whats wrong?
« on: April 15, 2012, 12:23 »
Had our 6 hens 2 weeks now, and all going well, first egg from one of them 2 days ago.  Something not quite right with one of them today, and dont know if its me just panicking because I'm new to it all.....she's normally the greediest of them all, was fine yesterday, scratting, pecking, and eating etc.....today, just seems really subdued, has eaten bit of layers pellets this morning, didnt want any greens, but had a few mealworms...hasnt been scratting around, just kept herself to herself, occasionally closing her eyes or a few seconds at a time, and fluffing feathers up....just noticed now that she was what looked like yawning, and extending her neck....did it a few times, with a few seconds gap between each one.....is something wrong?

GREEN FINGERED NOT

Re: whats wrong?
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2012, 15:05 »
Hi  I am in the same predicament today, mine last time had a blocked crop and it took a trip to the vet to clear it - if you can pick the chicken up and gently tip tap your fingers over her crop area and see if its just solid or emply might help - I am off to see if anyone can come up with anything for my little girl - good luck :(

loretta cluck

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2012, 15:12 »