Spuds and Onions

• 16 Replies

AllotmentSi

Spuds and Onions
« on: February 21, 2012, 09:35 »
Hi all,

I've been gardening for many years but not got into the fruit and veg side of things primarily due to lack of space!

I have recently acquired a 25m X 6m plot in my village and can't wait to get cracking. I was left by the last tenant and I have spent many hours so far clearing the site and am slowly but surly digging/weeding and adding a wonderful free supply of very well rotted horse manure!

A few weeks back, I got some early seed potatoes. These have been chitting for a few weeks and look good. The first question I have is that the books tell you to get the chits about half an inch. Some of mine are there already and its (I assume) still a little early to get them in the ground - how is the best way to store them for a few weeks? They have been chitting in my kitchen where its fairly cool and bright (not direct sunlight).

The other questions is surrounding Onion sets. I also picked up a load when I got my spuds - they have been kept in the dark on a hall cupboard to date and I noticed that some were looking a little shrivelled - am I storing them in the right conditions?

Many thanks in advanced!

Simon

(attached is a picture of half the plot in pre the digging marathon!)
photo.JPG

JayG

• Global Moderator
Re: Spuds and Onions
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2012, 09:57 »
As long as the chits look strong and are a purple/green colour they should be OK (your chitting conditions sound ideal but the kitchen may be a bit warmer than you think it is.)

Long, white chits are what you want to avoid as they are weak and most will break off when planting.

As for the onion sets, it is normal form them to lose a bit of their water content on storage but should still be firm - best to dump any really soft ones, which may actually be starting to rot.
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!