Newbie queries

• 26 Replies

Cluckyclaire

Newbie queries
« on: February 04, 2012, 23:55 »
Hello there, I am a total chicken amateur so sorry if i am asking questions that have been asked a million times...and sorry for the essay  :unsure: I have recently purchased a new chicken coop/ ark (states suitable for 9 small/6 large birds) and have never kept chickens before, though i have wanted to for ages so thought i would have a go.
I went to visit a breeder last week and saw three absolutely lovely healthy young Orpington hens (currently 12 weeks old) and i hope to collect them (3 hens) in 2 weeks. I figured that the house i bought will give them enough space and it has an integral run (17ft2) so i hope that would be enough? whilst i am out at work they can access the run area and when i am home they can free range in the garden once settled no probs (large garden).

My queries relate to:

1. Vaccination - i queried with the breeder who said he does not vaccinate his flock (all the birds there look very healthy to be honest, and having read quite a few articles i just feel a bit confused, i gather the mindset is that some do and some dont vaccinate? we do have wild birds in the garden though i do not feed them, sorry if i sound over protective, just want to know if they are more likely to get ill because they are not vaccinated, also  would we be ok to eat eggs if hens have not had salmonella vaccine? sorry if thats a silly question

2. we have a large garden, some lawned areas, some patio, some under pine tree, i would hope to be moving the coop around to allow the girls to have fresh grass etc and am concerned re foxes not that we see many as we are quite urban here but i would assume the hens may attract them? i intend to put paving slabs around edge of house/run?

3. Droppings - do i need to muck out the pull out droppings tray that is under the perch area every day/ once a week? I would intend to put this into composter so could i line with woodchips/newspaper?