New plot - advice on planting

• 21 Replies

AmandaLouise

• Experienced Member
New plot - advice on planting
« on: December 30, 2011, 10:50 »
Hi there

My name is Amanda.  I am 37 and live in manchester.  I acquired an allotment in October that was very much neglected and overgrown, but it is a great plot, south positioned, it has two greenhouses and a big shed. The biggest problem we have is getting rid of the excess old wood which is completely covering one of the soil beds, I thought it would be the amount of digging, but not been as bad as I first thought.  After lots of digging and pulling those weeds out, it has come on a lot quicker than I expected.  My intention was to get it straight first, and then take the next step of looking into planting.  

My main interest is going to be growing vegetables, I am not an experienced gardener at all,  complete beginner.  All in all there is going to be six soil patches with hopefully a bit of a play area at the bottom for my children. 4 of the beds have been thorougly dug and hand weeded, and 3 bordered.  

Do you think I now in a position to start some January planting? ie. some potatoes, which variety?  I only have two more beds to dig.  I purchased two allotment books, and feel a bit confused with science and where to start when it comes to planting... do I need to put other plants down to stop pests etc.

I have read about chitting potatoes, but dont know how many I should buy, and also where is the best place to get seeds from?  I have read it is better to get seeds from an organic catalogue rather than B&Q or commercial shops as they are more forced, or are my local nurseries okay.  sorry for this bombardment of questions, I am just very keen to learn as much as I can.