unvaccinated chickens

• 9 Replies

lynsnow

unvaccinated chickens
« on: November 16, 2011, 07:57 »
Hi i am new to chicken keeping and am collecting three unvaccinated purebreds tomorrow will i be able to get some hybrids to add to my flock ?

bantam novice

Re: unvaccinated chickens
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2011, 12:02 »
Hello Lynsnow and welcome to the forum  :)

I am not an expert but I would give your pure breed hens about two weeks for any potential nasties to show themselves before you add any hybrids.  Then, if possible, I would then keep the hybrids in separate quarters but in view of the other hens for about two weeks because even if they are vaccinated they could still be harbouring nasties.  If you do that I don't think there would be any problem keeping pure breeds with hybrids. 

When it comes to joining the two groups together it is best to move hens after dark when they are semi-comatose and let them out as early as possible the next morning.  There will probably still be some pecking order establishment.  This can look very nasty but best not to interfere if possible unless you can see blood or raw pink areas.  This is when you need the Purple Spray; Yes, it is called that though it is actually gentian violet.  This acts as a mild disinfectant on the wound and disguises the colour.  Hens can get drawn to pecking at pink or red areas.

Leave plenty of feeding and drinking stations so that lower pecking order hens can get to food and drink.  I have also seen suggestions of some branches as cover where hens can get out of the way if necessary.

It sounds and can look very nasty but is a natural part of how chickens behave and after a few days the squabbling usually settles down and you have a harmonious integrated flock.

Good luck and keep us posted  :)

By the way we love to see pictures of your hens on this forum so if you can post some that would be great!  :D
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

lynsnow