Sick Chick

• 9 Replies

chickenlittle

Sick Chick
« on: September 29, 2007, 19:56 »
:cry:
Can anyone help or advise please....
I have been keeping chickens for about 3 months now and recently bought a pair of crossed silkies from auction....
all was well until about 4 days ago when the silkie X hen had a problem opening her left eye....I tried bathing it to no avail and the next morning she had become very listless and kept falling asleep on her feet??? no other chickens were affected at this point and unfotunately she got worse and much to the disgust of my 7 year old I had to be cruel to be kind :cry:
2 days later my frizzle bantam hen had the same problems and today I have had to dispatch her to the big hen house in the sky also as I don't believe in animals suffering.
Has anyone experienced this before??
On inspecting both hens, there were no external signs of disease or bugs??
thanks sam
beer! helping uglee birds get laid since 1765

muntjac

Sick Chick
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2007, 20:19 »
http://www.msstate.edu/dept/poultry/dissymp.htm

try this for most ailments i find its good diagnostics  :wink:
still alive /............

chickenlittle

Sick Chick
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2007, 20:24 »
thanx  :lol:

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Sick Chick
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2007, 21:06 »
So sorry to hear of your problem chickenlittle !

The moral here is always quarantine new stock for a period of time.  How long would you suggest Munty ?

muntjac

Sick Chick
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2007, 21:06 »
4 weeks minimum :wink:

chickenlittle

Sick Chick
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2007, 21:25 »
thanks all for advice...have looked through your link munty and have narrowed it down to about 36 possibles!!!!
I'll keep an  eye on the other 1's

and in future use the quarantine rule :wink:

muntjac

Sick Chick
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2007, 21:28 »