Cause for concern?

• 9 Replies

Catsmuvva

• Experienced Member
Cause for concern?
« on: May 26, 2011, 19:12 »
Dixie-Lee, my oldest ex-bat (with me for 2yrs 2mth) has just expelled an entire albumen & what looks like a cooked strand of yolk, no membrane to hold it together and no shell.

I've done a quick internal and there's no evidence of shell. She's looking a bit shocked at the moment...

:ohmy:

bantam novice

Re: Cause for concern?
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2011, 20:22 »
Hello Catsmuvva,
I am not an expert however one thing you could try is giving her a warm bath.  This may help her relax and expell anything left inside her.  If she is still not back to herself she could have egg yolk peritonitis and will need a visit to the vet.
I am sure someone more experienced will be along to advise you.  In the meantime good luck and keep us posted.
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

Catsmuvva

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2011, 20:35 »
Thanks - she took herself off to the ark about 1/2hr after I'd posted, thought she'd gone for an early night but sat in the nestbox instead. I'll leave her for tonight as she seems settled there - had a few dried mealworms when I offered them a few minutes ago but didn't appear interested in getting up.

I'll def be checking her over in the morning as she felt a bit light but her crop was 1/2 full. Maybe its her that's been laying the eggs with the gloopy albumen I mentioned in a previous post...    :(

Oh, I should add that the yolk wasn't expelled, it was trailing from her vent so I gently pulled it out & then checked for shell which I didn't find.
« Last Edit: May 26, 2011, 20:37 by Catsmuvva »

Carla

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2011, 21:30 »