My wee sussex bantam chicken heaven or not please HELP!!!!!

• 15 Replies

Pixieswift

• Experienced Member
My wee sussex bantam is under a year and has been sick on and off with respitary problems, sometimes she is ill and sometimes she is ok she has had a couple of visits to the vet.
Now she has been in her nest box for 4 days she will not come out i feed her by hand 3 times a day and give her water, but i think i should have to let nature take its cause.
I dont know what is wrong with her but she looks in pain today, like she is straining and closes her eys wincing in what appears to be pain, it,s heartbraking to think about it but is it best to send her to chicken heaven or let it just happen. Im new to this she is my favourite hen i love her very much but can not stand to see her in pain and she has not been to the toilet for 4 days nearly HELP!!!!

Casey76

If she is in pain you ABSOLUTELY MUST NOT let it just happen.  Take her to the vet if you can't cull her yourself.

Having said that it actually sounds as if she is trying to pass a soft shelled egg.  Just sitting in the nest box is also a sign of being broody, and if you don't left her out she will not toilet.

So first things first... lift her out of the nest box and put her down as far from the coop as you can.  If she has to walk about for a while she will realise she can eat, drink and toilet.  I'm sure you would look distinctly uncomfortable if you hadn't been to the loo in 4 days either!

Once she has had time to wander around a bit she may look a bit brighter.

Do this, then come and tell us how she gets on :)

chasechicken

• Experienced Member
I'll second that - taking away the fact that she has had past respiratory problems, she sounds broody or possibly a soft-shelled egg..

Pixieswift

• Experienced Member