Seed help please!

• 6 Replies

cindyfurse

Seed help please!
« on: April 28, 2011, 20:12 »
Hi folks,

So I bought a few packs of seeds as they were going cheap (20p a pack) from a website. They have arrived nice and quickly and so far I have no quibbles. I only bought them to give them a try and as they were so cheap I thought I couldn't go wrong. So, having arrived there are no sowing/growing/care instructions with any of the seeds and as hubby and I are complete novices I am hoping that some of you helpful souls would be able to advise us.

The seeds in question are:

Aubergine - Black Beauty, which I'm sure I've read can be slow to germinate and we may be a bit late to sow this year.
Watermelon - Crimson Sweet
Calabrese - Green Sprouting, we're assuming we can just sow these direct, but any helpful guidance much appreciated.
And finally Tomato - Marmande.

Just asking for sowing/growing/care advice for the above if anyone can offer any.

Thanks in advance for any tips/advice!

Cindy

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: Seed help please!
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2011, 20:21 »
I would say you are too late for Aubergines, I started mine in February!

green sprouting instructions here
http://www.gardeningdirect.co.uk/Calabrese-Green-Sprouting/21-01-1028,default,pd.html

tomato....sow on windowledge or in propogator now  :)

cindyfurse

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2011, 22:18 »
Thanks mumofstig. I did think it was too late for aubergines!

BabbyAnn

« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2011, 15:17 »
I sowed my aubergines a couple of weeks ago and okay the warm Easter weekend was a bonus but they have germinated and doing well.  According to National Vegetable Society, aubergines can be sown in April.  Being in Devon cindyfurse, I would have thought you could probably still sow some now, but do it sooner rather than later.

hamstergbert

« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2011, 15:26 »