advice on alotment please

• 21 Replies

urbanarcher

• Security Systems
advice on alotment please
« on: January 03, 2011, 22:02 »
hi I've been offered an allotment.  :D I've just been down to have a look at it i'm a complete newbie by the way never grown anything but chillies. the plot is on a downward slope and has trees to the west on the boundary the left side of the plot seemed quite wet and soft and the upper half felt good and firm i didn't have tools so couldn't turn ove any earth its covered in grassy weeds at the mo. i'm just wondering if i'm going to have any trouble with this plot on the lower area is its shaded and lower than the rest of the allotments will it stay very wet and will things grow with half a days light?

This is an overhead image of the plot, the plot is marked and the arrow represents the land fall.

any advice will be greatly appreciated as i'm deciding whether to ask for a different plot if there is such a thing!

Edited by Aunty to make the picture live.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2011, 22:23 by urbanarcher »

andy135

Re: advice on alotment please
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2011, 22:47 »
Do you know when the image was taken? If during the winter months, then the sun would be low giving a large area of shadow. I think you may find that this wouldn't be a problem during the summer with the sun much higher in the sky.
Added to that the fact that the sun rises in the east, the plot will probably be in full sun untill later in the afternoon. Also see if you can have the trees/shrubs trimmed back a bit.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2011, 22:49 by andy135 »

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2011, 22:56 »
It should get a decent amount of light until midday at least so I wouldn't worry too much.

You won't be able to grow too much too close to the western boundary anyway owing to competition from the tree roots for moisture and nutrients.

Is the plot othewise good from the point of view of access, water (tap) etc?