Introducing young birds

• 12 Replies

Honeysuckle

• Experienced Member
  • Kira & Bruin
Introducing young birds
« on: October 02, 2010, 13:16 »
What is the best age to introduce young birds to the run with our mature hens?   ;)
2 German Shepherds, Kira & Bruin, 4 hybrid chicks Chryssie, Violet, Sweet Pea and Astra.

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: Introducing young birds
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2010, 15:47 »
If they are not with a broody hen then really they need to be big enough to stand up for themselves, also don't forget good quarrenteen proceedures for a few weeks, extra feeders, drinkers and hideaway places  :). Whatever the age the older girls will bully the new ones for a few weeks.
Staffies are softer than you think.

bengigirl

« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2010, 15:49 »
I'm a newbie at this and have had to merge my 'babies' with the grown hens recently.  I don't know if it is right or wrong, but so far it has worked and the babies are thriving with tolerence from their 'Aunties'