new to chook keeping :)

• 19 Replies

saffibaby

new to chook keeping :)
« on: October 02, 2010, 10:01 »
Hi all, I will be taking delivery of two, maybe three pretty girls today (hopefully), I have been reading with interest some of the winter tips etc on here, thanks for posting guys....my question is this, when I bring them home, is it best to keep them cooped for a while to get them used to their surroundings gradually - like pigeons we have had, or is it ok to let them run a bit wild straight away?  We have everything ready and waiting for them. This is my first attempt at chicken keeping, so any help at all would be great...Thanks in advance!  :)

Fisherman

Re: new to chook keeping :)
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2010, 10:18 »
If you get them home mid to late afternoon I would put them in the coop overnight. Just this once you may want to put food and water in the coop after that leave it outside during the day and store it in a pest proof place overnight. The following morning let the chickens out and they will be fine. I would advise getting three, if you get two and one dies the other will be on its own which is not good. Make sure you worm them and treat them for lice as soon as possible.

You will enjoy them soo much and they even lay eggs as well :lol:

bantam novice

« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2010, 10:36 »
Welcome to the forum, Saffibaby, and welcome to the addictive world of chicken keeping  :D

I would agree with what Fisherman says; go for three and don't be surprised if you find you want more soon!
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

saffibaby

« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2010, 11:11 »