poorly chook

• 3 Replies

atsndave

poorly chook
« on: September 18, 2010, 13:53 »
Can anyone give some advice - one of our chooks has been very off colour last couple of days, not moving around much, looks like having trouble swallowing.  Husband thinks this particular chicken swallowed a small mouse whole about a week ago, can anything be done to help ?

bantam novice

Re: poorly chook
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2010, 16:34 »
Hello there,
sorry to hear about your chook.  :(   Welcome to the forum.  I am new to chicken keeping myself but you could try seeing if she has a temperature.  You do this by feeling under her wing and then under the wing of another hen to see if she feels any hotter. 
From what I have heard and read chickens do go for small rodents and bugs as well as corn mash and greens etc.  I do not think that would affect her.  Someone with more experience may have a different opinion.
Is she eating and drinking at all or do you think she has stopped and is completely "blocked up" ?
You may need to find a local chicken-friendly vet.  Not all vets understand chickens.
There are a lot of experienced people here who can give you good advice.
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

atsndave

« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2010, 15:07 »
Thanks for this, she is drinking plenty of water but not really interested in food at all, jsut sitting in the coop looking very sorry for herself.  I just wondered whether eating a mouse whole is taking a long time to digest and she has some stuck somewhere, will just have to keep monitoring her

henamoured

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2010, 17:34 »
I'm not sure if this would be a result of eating a mouse - mine have had them in the past and actually looked/laid better for them!
I'd have a good look at her for other things - all the usuall suspects: injuries, mites, lice, sniffles, discharges from eyes, vent, sour/compacted crop.
Is it possible she could have eaten a poisonous plant?