Broad Beans bad crop

• 6 Replies

julietmaria

• http://www.thewashablenappy.co.uk
Broad Beans bad crop
« on: July 11, 2007, 23:11 »
Hi, My broad bean crop is not good at all.  I am pretty new to all this vegetable growing and this is the first time I have sown broad beans.  In my book it says they are very easy and that you will get a big crop.  I wondered if I could have some kind of disease or fungas as a lot of the flowers and bean pods seemed to be slightly black?  How are other peoples broad beans and any idea what I could have done wrong.  I love broad beans and was very excited at the prospect of having some from my own garden :(
thanks in advance to any replies
Juliet
A flower cannot blossom without sunshine nor a garden without love

Spon

Broad Bean Bad Crop
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2007, 08:57 »
All vegetable growers have been disappointed at some time, julietmaria, so welcome to the club!
You may find some of the explanation for your poor crop in the answers being posted to Sheena's 'Rusty Broad Bean Plant' questions.
Like you, I love broad beans and always look forward to the first feed of the year. I have seldom had much success with autumn sowings so I planted some 'The Sutton' on 28th January this year, followed by some 'Bunyards Exhibition' on 11th March. Both varieties were hit by blackfly and I was slower dealing with these pests on 'The Sutton' than on the 'BE'.
Although 'TS' is a dwarf variety, I have had good crops in past years. This year, however, the crop is poor. The crop now being harvested from the 'BE' is much better - but still nowhere near as good as in the last few years.
Don't give up, julietmaria, it may be that this year is just a poor year! My advice would be to try a couple of varieties next year.

milkman

Broad Beans bad crop
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2007, 09:10 »
Yup don't give up - I've had plot holders on my site commenting at what a poor year it's been for broad beans.