Newly broody hen

• 12 Replies

barneyowl

Newly broody hen
« on: June 22, 2007, 13:07 »
Hello. I have a girl, sitting for 3 days on 7 selected eggs.  She is isolated and comes out occasionaly to poop and feed.  This morning however she vomited a fair bit of brown "stuff"  Is this normal? anybody know? :?:  :roll:
who cares wins

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
Newly broody hen
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2007, 13:52 »
Hi barneyowl  and welcome to the forums, can't help you on this one I'm afraid, but someone will be along soon who can.
He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Newly broody hen
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2007, 14:05 »
Hi barneyowl - Welcome to the forums

I've no experience of hatching eggs so can't help you except to say I've not heard of that happening before.

We have quite a number of breeders here and I'm sure they will be able to help you  :D

barneyowl

Newly broody hen
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2007, 15:01 »
Thankyou both.  Clarice lives a free range life.  So I am hoping nature will take its course and as long as she has food and water nearby, a little outside area and a warm henhouse for her nest I will let her get on with it. I have never done this before so I am trusting Clarice`s instict rather than my own expertise.  Having said that... All advice will be most welcome !

mercury

Newly broody hen
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2007, 21:09 »
hi barneyowl, what does her droppings look like, and is she otherwise healthy looking, and eating ok :)

barneyowl

Newly broody hen
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2007, 21:35 »