Dig 4 Victory front garden

• 9 Replies
Dig 4 Victory front garden
« on: June 06, 2010, 14:57 »
Hi

I have been bitten by the grow your own bug since having my twin girls last year. They are 14 months old and I can't think of a cheaper or nicer way to feed them!! I struggled to find space to grow my veg. I am on an allotment waiting list and my attempt at getting a land share using the River Cottage website didn't come to anything. So, in March I looked at my front terrace garden and decided this still will have to do!

The garden is walled off the street. It's about ten foot by 15 foot and I have built raised beds in it. My neighbours thought I had lost the plot!! Our side of the street gets limited sun so I decided to plant lots if spinnach. I am using the square foot garden approach. I also have courgettes, tomatoes, broad bean, brussel sprouts, a big rhubarb, lots of herbs and a bed full of rasburys.  I am new to all  this so wasn't sure how it would turn out but I be blown it's now full of lush green veg!!! My  neighbours are quite impressed!! So much so they have pushed me into entering the garden into the local authority gardening contest for residents. Just to add a theme I have put up a Dig for Victory  sign and have ordered some wooden union jack bunting in a vintage style. Anyone got any other  ideas that might help stay with the vintage Dig for Victory theme?

Thanks
Sarah
« Last Edit: June 06, 2010, 15:02 by Mumdigs4victory »

Trillium

Re: Dig 4 Victory front garden
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2010, 15:11 »
If your picture gets taken, be sure to wear those headscarfs which were knotted at the top and a pair of brown coveralls  :D

Here's something to inspire you. Although it's from California, it can apply anywhere. Dino kale is commonly known as Tuscan kale.

DX-rL2-KgP4

Elcie

« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2010, 16:19 »