Anyone here from France, help with sourcing stuff

• 13 Replies

Andee

Hi,
another newbie here making plans for the arrival of 3 chooks in July. I have the Hen's Den sorted :- see here http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=56419.0 but I have yet to sort out where and what to buy, supplies wise.

For bedding (scattering on the floor of the coop) I have a small supply of sawdust and wood chips from my workshop and garden but was wondering if something like hemcore is available over here?

I'd also like to know where to go for food and pest control supplies. Anyone recommendations of brands would be welcome.

Many thanks

Andy

tode

Re: Anyone here from France, help with sourcing stuff
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2010, 10:45 »
Hi Andee,  there should be a "Cooperative agricole" or an "Agrial" near you: try googling.  Both are very good for all agriculural supplies.

Wher abouts are you:  near Lisieux ?

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2010, 11:09 »

For bedding (scattering on the floor of the coop) I have a small supply of sawdust and wood chips from my workshop and garden but was wondering if something like hemcore is available over here?

aubiose is the French equivalent of Hemcore and is better in my experience.

If you use saw dust/wood chip in the coop it must be dust extracted or the hens risk respiratory damage.

Andee

« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2010, 12:07 »
Tode,
I am a lot closer to Caen than Lisieux, on the western fringe of the Pays d'Auge. In which part of the NW are you.

googling Agrial leads me straight to Point Vert who I thought were just another garden centre, an expensive one at that, we have one quite close so I'll take a peek & see if what they have.

Thanks

Andy

Casey76

« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2010, 12:39 »
Hello *waves*