sleepy hen

• 6 Replies

Burny

sleepy hen
« on: March 28, 2010, 13:21 »
Please excuse my ignorance, but i'm new to keeping chickens and have only had 3 POL's for a week. Everything seemed fine for the first 6 days, ( 9 eggs between days 3 and 5) nice perky, lively girls. Let them free range yesterday for the first time and kept them out for a couple of hours. They went back home with no fuss. Let them out this morning and gradually 2 out of the 3 has become more and more lathargic to the point that they just sleeping, one of them has got her head under her wing and hasn't moved. Is this normal behaviour or should I be concerned. I've had 1 egg of one of them this morning.
Any advice would be most welcome.  Thanks

carolbriar

Re: sleepy hen
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2010, 18:09 »
I'm fairly new to this as well but wondered if it is possible that they ate something when they were free ranging?  How have they been during the rest of the day? I'm sure a more experienced member will come along with some suggestions.  Keep an eye on them and see how they go.  Good luck.
2 Springer Spaniels, 1 Speckled Sussex,  1 Cuckoo Maran, 1 Light Sussex, 1 Welsummer, 2 Barnvelders and 2 silver Pencil Wyandotes.

beulah59

• Experienced Member
    • Hen Keeper
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2010, 09:56 »
Could it be some kind of infection? Hens rarely eat anything that's bad for them. Is their breathing clear? Is there any discharge from eyes or nose?
two daughters, nine hens, two goldfish, three cats ...

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2010, 10:24 »
how are they today? If they are still the same perhaps you should take them to the vets.
Staffies are softer than you think.

dizzylizzie

« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2010, 16:48 »