Coriander

• 39 Replies

Lardman

Coriander
« on: March 28, 2010, 12:19 »
Can someone please teach me the secret of how to grow it please  ::)

3 sowings so far this year and nothing ... just 2 very leggy seedings that I culled as they were never going to amount to anything.   :(

lacewing

Re: Coriander
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2010, 12:32 »
Pity this tread didn't happen a week ago. I sowed a tray of coriander and had a to abandon some as I had far too many. I'm no expert, so all I can say is follow the basic rules, fresh seed, heat to germinate, moist compost. If you still have no luck, I will send you a few plants.
There is no better show of antisipation than a man sowing seeds in a field.

Lardman

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2010, 12:43 »
 :ohmy: :D

I'll give it another go then - can't say Im doing anything other than you describe, I just seem to have bad coriander mojo.

Might it be worth giving the seeds a soak?

Ice

• muck spreader
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2010, 12:53 »
I've had problems with coriander too but I tried "confetti" coriander and found it much easier to grow. 
Cheese makes everything better.

tosca100

• New start, new life in BG
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2010, 13:05 »
Can someone please teach me the secret of how to grow it please  ::)

3 sowings so far this year and nothing ... just 2 very leggy seedings that I culled as they were never going to amount to anything.   :(

Wouldn't bother....it's 'orrible! :D

lacewing

« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2010, 14:20 »
Why is it orrible?  you don't know what good taste is! ::) It's delicious with a nice curry.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2010, 19:14 by lacewing »

8doubles

« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2010, 14:25 »
I think coriander likes a warm start so maybe it`s a bit early.Do you crack the seed capsules to let the seeds out before sowing.

prakash_mib

« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2010, 17:58 »