Larger Flock of Hens

• 15 Replies

chasechicken

• Experienced Member
Larger Flock of Hens
« on: March 24, 2010, 10:17 »
Hi all,

I've been given the opportunity to get involved with setting up a large flock of hens (also exbatts) at a local wildlife reserve.  I don't really know numbers yet but it's likely to be in the region of 20-30 or so birds.  At present, I have two left, so I'm not experienced in looking after a larger quantity.

Other than obviously needing more space, food, and TLC, what other considerations do you think I should make with a larger flock?

They'll be free range although there will be a high fence which I hope will keep Mr Foxy out.

We'll probably use an old shed (or get a new one) for housing them, although I'm keen on looking at alternatives - perhaps an egloo type thing - just because of red mite being such an issue.

I'd appreciate any thoughts you may have.  There will be numerous people in the area full time to look after them, so they won't just be running riot.

Thanks,

cc

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: Larger Flock of Hens
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2010, 10:36 »
if you are having that many birds you would need at least 3 eglu cubes (at over £600 each this will be very expensive albeit a nice idea), or between 7 and 10 elus. A large shed converted (cheapest method) would be great or you could buy a purpose built chicken shed to save you converting one. Some of our members have coups from the Lenham range and these are built to last years.
What sort of fencing are you having? is it electric, wooden, mesh? How high? Foxes have been known to get over 6 feet high fences. Are there any trees overhanging it that preditors can climb up? Is the fence dug down into the gound to prevent burrowing?
Sorry for so many questions but the answers you give may help people to give you the right advice  :)
Staffies are softer than you think.

chasechicken

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2010, 11:06 »