roofing and ventilation

• 12 Replies

emu

roofing and ventilation
« on: February 22, 2010, 11:09 »
Hello
Newbie here - been reading the forum with great interest and gaining some top tips! -
I'm in the process of converting an 8x6 shed for my soon-to-be-bought chooks. I have two questions regarding the roof/ventilation:
1. When fitting onduline, do you leave the plywood roof on or fix it directly to the roofing bars?
2. I am planning to replace the perspex window with mesh and a wooden shutter as well as cutting a circular 4" vent above the door. Do you leave the eaves open too or should you use "eaves fillers" or similar to prevent draughts?

Hope you can help! Chris

goodegg

Re: roofing and ventilation
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2010, 13:08 »
i would leave the ply on tthe roof onduline needs a lot of support otherwise it sags if you put 4in hole above door i would put simler at other gable as well so you got through flow of air. and welcome to the mad house.good luck with chucks.

beulah59

• Experienced Member
    • Hen Keeper
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2010, 16:00 »
I read somewhere that you can leave the eaves open using screwed up chicken wire ... stops rats etc getting in, but allows the ventilation ...
two daughters, nine hens, two goldfish, three cats ...

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2010, 16:54 »
You can put the onduline on top of the ply, but then I feel its a good harbour for red mite.  When Brian built my 16 x 8ft shed for the pure breeds, he just did an onduline roof.  It actually took 1 and a bit sheets for each length as the house is 8ft wide, and its got joists every 16 inches across for strength.  Didn't even budge under the weight of all that snow we had.  you can put chicken wire up in teh eaves, but Brian just tacked weld mesh right across the top of the walls and bent it up and over the onduline covering the lot.

No rodent has ever been in there!