agressive chickens

• 5 Replies

Tilda

agressive chickens
« on: May 07, 2007, 00:22 »
:twisted: I have resently taken on 4 ex-battery hens , they have a fab house with extended run, one fell off her perch and needed to see a vet, still limping but getting on ok, but really bullied by 2 others , there's another slightly weak one and she too is being got at, I've now had to keep them seperate, but always insight of the others durring the day.They all have the run of the garden, when it's safe,( too many brave cats and visiting foxes!!) but the 2 weaker ones are ambushed by the bullies, mainly one but sometimes both...we're only getting eggs from the bullies,not surprizingly and at night ( they are all together then,) the 2 weak ones now sleep 1 nest box , it's like a soap opra. what can I do to sort this mess out ? :(
Tida's mum

Bagpuss

• Experienced Member
agressive chickens
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2007, 07:44 »
I have very little chicken experience but like you I had four ex-batteries about six weeks ago.  One was much smaller and featherless than the rest and she was picked on, so whenever I fed tham I gave her some separately when the others weren't looking, or they'd would rush up and push her out the way. It has gradually settled down now and the more her feathers grow back and the fatter she looks the better it seems to get, although she's still a bit of a loner.  It feels like trying to sort out the bullies in the school yard.

Hopefully yours will be OK soon. :)
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

Tilda

agressive chickens
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2007, 10:03 »
Thanks I hope it'll all calm down soon, but I think I'll have to keep them seperate untill the weaker ones have got a bit stronger. If you get any more ideas let me know . :?

Gardening Mark

• Experienced Member
agressive chickens
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2007, 13:34 »