Trouble with sprouts

• 16 Replies

jax8008

Trouble with sprouts
« on: September 04, 2009, 22:05 »
Hello everybody
Its my first post and am in need of some help.
Firstly, my sprouts have been covered in caterpillars that I am constantly taking off by hand, will they do any damage other than that which I can see in that the leaves are very holey.
Secondly, on the biggest of the plants the sprouts are opening up and I wonder what could be causing this.
I would appreciate any help with this as this is my first year in growing sprouts.
Many thanks
Jackie

AlotArds

• Experienced Member
Re: Trouble with sprouts
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2009, 22:50 »
Hi, I am a first year student lotty holder, I also have probs with caterpillers, I have been using a weak mix of washing up liquid on them and it has slowed the wee eating thingy'mebobs down. try that, I am sure someone else will be along soon with there tips

peterjf

« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2009, 23:34 »
bug off , try it or other bug spray , just follow instructions

Kristen

• K's Garden blog
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2009, 23:48 »
You can net them - using scaffolder's debris netting. Pictures of how I did mine on My Blog

I don't think the caterpillars carry any disease (unlike Aphid etc. which may infect plants whilst eating them :() so its only the damage that you can see.

If you are removing them by hand then rub off any clumps of eggs you see - that will prevent the new comers hatching and eating more leaves before you can get to them.

If your sprouts are "blown" already then the most likely cause is that the soil wasn't rock hard to start with.  Brassicas like it well trampled down (dunno how they force their roots through concrete, but that's how they like it :)

Staking them so they don;t rock in the wind may help.

Sadgit

• Village Idiot
    • Middlesbrough Weather
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2009, 08:44 »
Nice netting Kristen. I keep meaning to it mine properly like this..

maxie