new to poultry and really struggling

• 12 Replies

Asaunders

new to poultry and really struggling
« on: August 29, 2009, 12:32 »
i am new to poultry and have halved off my garden to keep chickens, at the moment i have started with around twenty hens which consists of 10 x batts which i have had for nearly two weeks ( no eggs of yet of them) and have a mix of another ten hens which include 1 rhode island red,2 welshsummers, 2 welbars,1light sussex, 2 marans and two others i have no idea of the breed, i have had these hens around a year now but im a struggling to get a consistant amount of eggs, the pen they live is big enough for them they have plenty of room to roam around. there house is full of straw i change once a week and is plenty big enough for them to go in and lay. i feed them on layers pellets every morning and give them a hand ful of mixed corn late afternoon and they have fresh water everyday but i still carnt get enough eggs from them!!! from the 10 hens i have had longer i get 4 a day and then nothing off the new x batts!!! what am i doing wrong???

grumpydad

Re: new to poultry and really struggling
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2009, 12:50 »
i do not have ex batts, but from reading other posts on this site, they will take a while to settle down.
the layers should be down all day, and they should have unlimited supply available to them, when they are full they will stop eating.
egg production will drop year by year by up to 20 % from a hen, depending on its breed.
there are other factors which also interupt egg laying, the moult which occurs yearly in the autumn will stop them laying.
stress can interupt laying, if you have added significantly to your flock, that could have had an influence.
eggs will only be produced by healthy happy hens, when they stop, there is generally something that is upsetting the balance on their life.

martyn

agapanthus

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2009, 12:56 »