Chicken sounds

• 6 Replies

tonethebone

Chicken sounds
« on: June 24, 2009, 23:22 »
So, I'm new to all this, although I've kept several animals since I was a nipper and I've worked with all kinds of zoo animals from Elephants to chimps.

I'm intrigued by all the sounds my girls make. Whenever I talk to them or go near them they seem to mumble quietly to themselves as if to say "hello, what's he up to?"
Then there are the sounds they make when there's a bit of a scrap at the food station.

But I'm interested to know if there is any kind of list that explains some of the more common vocalisations so I can recognise what's going on.

wildwitchy

Re: Chicken sounds
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2009, 00:16 »
Well mine make an announcement on laying an egg which is a really loud cluck rosey.

Sylvia speaks to me when I see her after coming home from work, she makes a certain high pitched squeel - squark cuk cuk, kind of noise? I dunno? She does the same noise every time so it must mean something.

Adolf does his cockerel bok bok when he feeds his ladies & they all come running seeing what he's found.

They purr when on my lap sometimes and at bedtime in the coop.

flangey

« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2009, 13:11 »
Hello, I know what you mean, they do have a huge range.  I read somewhere that the louder the noise the more unhappy they are, but I dont know how true that is.  What really makes me laugh is when they're walking all over my plants and I politley ask them to move along, they seem to answer you back, its great!! i would say the 'mumbling' sound is a contented one, they always seem fairly happy when they make that noise. 

I speak fluent cat, dog and horse though if that helps!!

nzdunn

« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2009, 13:39 »
ive noticed the purring when they are perching at bedtime, its lovely, my favourite sound, when i first heard it i wasnt sure where it was coming from as didnt expect to hear it from the girls.  nickyx

poultrygeist