helloe from East Sussex

• 5 Replies

topsy

helloe from East Sussex
« on: March 08, 2009, 19:56 »
Hi All

I am a newbie to the site and more worringly (for me) a newbie to growing veg.  I am hoping to grow in containers, and the main salad items would be my goal. I guess i will put a post on the main forum and say HELP !!!  as i am slightly baffled as to how and when to sart and quite what i can grow !!   do I start from seed or buy already part grown plants...................or do i leg it to the farm shop as they have it sussed,  noooo... i am determined not to .............!!

Anyway off to the shops tomorrow to suss out what i may need.............i think they might see me coming and sell me far too much !!!!!   
if i plant it, will it grow ?

topsy

growing vegetables in containers
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2009, 20:03 »
Hi

Newbie here .....

I would like to be able to grow Salad - cucumber, lettuce, tomatoes plus onions and peppers in containers plus anthing else if you have ideas.!!  ........i have a conservatory to start things in, and a small indoor .outdoor plastic greenhouse with 4 shelves.

I just cant find the info on the web to tell me what can be in grown in pots, when to start and if they can be grown from seed or do i buy small plants.

Could anyone help ??  or recomend any good books ?

Ice

• muck spreader
Re: helloe from East Sussex
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2009, 20:09 »
Welcome to the forum.

I would make a list of things you like to eat and post them on here.  There are lots of things you can grow in containers very successfully.  Seeds are much cheaper than ready grown and you can keep any unused ones for next year.
Cheese makes everything better.

sclarke624

Re: growing vegetables in containers
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2009, 20:57 »
I have started in my conservatory with some cling film over to act as propergator:
Lettuce
cucumber
Toms
radish
spring onion
peppers
self blanching celery
alpine strawberries
Herbs
parsley
dill
chervil
basil