novice chicken questions!!

• 3 Replies

Samandtwig

« on: January 24, 2009, 23:24 »
i am probably about to ask some silly questions, but please humour me i'm a complete novice!!

We have just bought an allotment plot at end of our garden and are thinking about getting some chickens, we are trying to work out where best to site the coup...

1)...we have alot of himilayan balsam and nettles coming through from an empty plot next door...i'm  thinking if i site the coup near this problem area of the garden would the chickens be able to eat this safely and keep the weeds at bay....??

2)...next door also have a small cattery near where we would probably site the coup, it is unlikely the cats would be able to get out and into the run/coup but will the noise stress the birds out, there can be alot of 'miaowing'?? we do have to dogs that keep any cats away most of the time...

3)..also what is the best way to keep the chickens from eating all our veg if we allow them to free range... or is that just an impossibility?

4)...we also have a river at the bottom of the garden, will this be a problem in terms of additional pests, we definetly have foxes, badgers (and aledgedly otters but we have never seen one).

5)...do chickens and bees mix? we are also looking at getting a beehive..

any advice would be greatfully recieved.

cheers

sam

poultrygeist

« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2009, 09:17 »
Hi Samandtwig. Welcome. :)

Most definitely NOT silly questions. :)

1. It would seem that some chickens eat nettles, some don't. No idea if Indian Balsam would give them any problems, but they will probably decide this for themselves. They take a bit, see if it's nice or not, then either leave it or gobbel the lot :wink:

2. Most keepers on here also have cats who mostly keep their distance. I would have though they'll quickly get used to the noise. If anything, the chickens may drive the cats mad.

3. A big fence !