SOme questions from complete novice

• 16 Replies

penance

« on: August 13, 2008, 14:33 »
At the moment i am only considering the idea of keeping chickens.
I would want them for egg production.

Few questions:

How many chickens would be needed to supply eggs for 2 people?
How much space is required for the above amount of chickens?

Whats a rough cost of chicken upkeep, say per month.

Sure i'll have many other questions, but those will help me in deciding whether to do this or not.

poultrygeist

Re: SOme questions from complete novice
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2008, 14:45 »
Quote from: "penance"

How many chickens would be needed to supply eggs for 2 people?

That depends how many eggs you eat  :)
Depends on breed but we get an egg pretty much every day from our amberlinks. Some breeds only average every other day and some even less. Are you selecting purely on egg-laying or any other criteria ??

How much space is required for the above amount of chickens?

The house needs to be minimum 1sq.ft. per hen. 2 would be better.
Run needs to be minimum 1sq.metre per hen. Much more is better.
If you can free range it's better for the hens and your eggs.

Whats a rough cost of chicken upkeep, say per month.

Without medication, feed is average £7-£11 per 20kg. That lasts about 6 months or more for 1 hen I would think. Pro rata for more hens.
Corn (£7ish) lasts much much longer because it's a treat. Grit/oyster shell is about £11/20kg and lasts forever.
Greens you can obviously grow for most of the year. Otherwise, very little in shops for cabbage/greens.
You can give tonics, vitamins, garlic, yoghurt, treats, etc which is very variable.

Can't think of any other direct costs.

Rob 8)

penance

« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2008, 14:51 »
Hi Rob,

Good point there, probably 1 per day would be good. I am the main egg eater as my wife doesn't do well with them.
Egg laying at the moment, unless people with more experience/ideas suggest other criteria.