feta

• 9 Replies

titch

feta
« on: January 04, 2009, 21:20 »
bought some feta, it says on the packet to eat within three days of eating, as i am new to eating this cheese, what will it taste like if its gone off?? anyone know??
if you dont, i might in a few days :shock:

i cant believe it will go off if i dont eat it within three days :?
i dont think i can eat it all that quickly :roll:
any good ideas what to do with it? can i cook with it?? dont want it to go to waste (eating this cos its cow dairy free, and i am not eating cow dairy)
thank you
just keep breathing................

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
feta
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2009, 21:24 »
I love a Greek salad:

Sliced red onion
bite sided pieces of peeled cucumber
bite sized pieces of tomatoe
crumbled fetta cheese

Mix together in a flat dish, season with salt and black pepper, drizzle with olive oil and leave to stand for a little while before serving with fresh crusty bread...  delicious !!!!

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
feta
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2009, 21:25 »
The stuff in packets goes off quickly, because the bulk cheese is stored in the liquid left from the cheese making. It's not a dry cheese like cheddar or parmesan.

If you can buy a larger piece in a plastic marge style tub, it keeps longer.

Hope you like it, it's an acquired taste but after 4 years in greece i love the stuff

titch

feta
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2009, 21:54 »
will try the recipe Aunt sally, sounds delish.  Its also a luch i could take to work in a tub - it could marinate while i play with the little peeps and be ready at lunchtime, yum, will give it a go tomorrow as a trial run

where might i find the stuff in tubs mos???

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
feta
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2009, 22:01 »
It doesn't need to stand too long.  Don't put any salt on it if your taking it to work. Take the cheese and seasoning separatly and add just before you want to eat it.

mashauk