Pooing in nest boxes and lack of perching- any tips?

• 16 Replies

carms 32

« on: December 27, 2008, 20:42 »
Hi
I am new to chickens and wonder if anyone has some advise they could give me?

I have 2 bluebelles, both are laying, and they are pooing in their nest boxes. I was told to block them off until they started laying, which they now are however they continue to use this area as a toilet. Any ideas?

ALSO
The house I have is said to take 4- 6 hens. It was supplied without a perch so we have had to install a DIY perch. Unfortunately they don't seem to be using it at night. We have tried putting them on it at night but its not working...

Any ideas would be welcome,
Thanks

Helen

Vember

« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2008, 21:05 »
Hi Carms 32

Welcome to the Hen House :D

Are they sleeping in the nest box?
If so is the perch you have put in lower than the nest box?

Hens "normally" like to roost high up so they will go to the highest point :)

I have one now that still insists on sleeping in the nest box, I just pick out the poo every morning so that it's not too much of a problem :D

Sarah :)

karlooben

« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2008, 21:31 »
my girls are ex batts so before i got them i would assume that they had nev er seen a  perch ever , but now i cant keep them of them at night i would say just give them time but make sure the perch is high up as u can get it . mine even argue on whos perching where  :lol:  they seem to all have their own little  area .
and one tip if they start to perch make sure if u can do it is put a shelf under the perch so that when they poo it goes on there an no where else and makes it easier for cleaning .
"Until one has loved an animal, part of their soul remains unawakened."

poultrygeist

« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2008, 21:32 »
Welcome carms. :)