Thinking of getting an allotment

• 22 Replies

mum2many

« on: February 16, 2007, 10:46 »
In sunny Crewe, there seem to be loads available. Not far from John either so all his advice on planting times will be spoton for me.

But I have a few, possiby silly, questions.

Is it worth the hard work?
Will other allotment holders help me (with planting advice etc not the hard labour) as I am a complete novice?
Will other allotment holders look after the plot when I am on my Hols(just general watering, not weeding)
Do you have people nicking the crops you've grown?
Can I grow enough to feed 6+ people?

em x
Em x
Already got names for my chooks but dont tell "Tom"
organic? non organic? not a clue only just started

flatcap

• Experienced Member
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2007, 10:57 »
hope its worth all the hard work this is our 1st year growing  :)  guys beside us are very helpful lots of advice if they have anything spare theyl give you it its like a small family if anyone going on hols they feed and water chicks water plants anything to help so id go for it

slowcompost

• Experienced Member
lotties
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2007, 10:58 »
Hope you do get an allotment.
Without a doubt they are worth every ounce of effort.
Nothing tastes as good as food you've grown yourself.
On my allotments they are so helpfull you get no end of excess plants and produce  given. To the extent i sometimes think i need'nt acually grow anything to make a profit. Just stand around looking as though i know what i'm doing.
Seriously though allotments should not really be looked at from a profit motive, more from the pleasure, health benifits and sense of well being you will get from successfully growing stuff you can eat.
As the great Percy Thrower used to say
" OI THINK THE ANSWER LIES IN THE SOIL"

mum2many

Re: lotties
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2007, 11:03 »
Quote from: "slowcompost"
Hope you do get an allotment.
Without a doubt they are worth every ounce of effort.