this is not good ,, my first dead girl ????

• 16 Replies

karlooben

« on: October 07, 2008, 18:11 »
i went into the hen house this afternoon and i found one of my girls had died . i dont know what of and there were no injuries on her  :(  :(  . a farmer friend of mine said they can just drop dead of a heartattack  :?: . they all seemed very fine this morning and everyone had been eating well over the past few days .

all other girls seem happy an perky tonite when i put them away .

but now i am worried  :cry:  :cry:
"Until one has loved an animal, part of their soul remains unawakened."

Jo-n-Neil

« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2008, 18:16 »
Aww Sorry to hear that , hope you are ok. Cant offer much advice or give any suggestions as im only a newbie chook owner,but il send you a big hug instead. :cry:

Jo xx

karlooben

« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2008, 18:27 »
thankyou  big hug recieved .. i need to find out why it can be bad for hens to eat the eggs ? i have at least one a day that gets eaten i am going to try an build a nest area where they cant get to the eggs . am wandering if thats whats casued her to die .

Vember

« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2008, 18:29 »
Real Sorry to hear that Karlooben :D
It's real sad but yes they can just drop like that, I had one go last week :(

At least she had a few weeks of freedom & love :)

Sending Hugs

Sarah :)

woodburner

« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2008, 00:35 »
Quote from: "karlooben"
thankyou  big hug recieved .. i need to find out why it can be bad for hens to eat the eggs ? i have at least one a day that gets eaten i am going to try an build a nest area where they cant get to the eggs . am wandering if thats whats casued her to die .

I've never heard of it being bad for the chooks, but it's very bad for the eggs!  :lol: