Complete beginners, were henpecked!

• 20 Replies

Matilda

« on: August 12, 2008, 22:15 »
We are newbies, can you help? we wud luv 2 hear from u if you can give us advice on everything about startin to keep chickens - 1st we need a hen house and the choices are overwhelming.  We havent got much money (Our other names are Tom and Barbara - The good Life)!! What realistically is best setup for house/run to get, build or scrounge?  What are best laying hens? All info welcome, we are here to learn and make a good job of our new hobbie.  :?
Thanks, Matilda from Staffs...

SnooziSuzi

• Facebook
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2008, 22:25 »
Hi Matilda,  welcome to the forums.

Why not see if you can get an old small shed to start with as the hen house.  If it's too tall you can always cut it down to size, but I'd stick with it at full height.

As for the best laying hens, if you want friendly hens that are quite placid go for hybrids (AKA isa browns, warrens).  They have been selected for good laying abilities and make great pets.

Good luck  :D

agapanthus

« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2008, 22:32 »
Hi Matilda! Why not try scrounging wood etc., from a building site....you will be amazed at the stuff they thow out!!

mickwood

• Experienced Member
    • Our Lotty
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2008, 22:41 »
Welcome Matilda, have ya tried freecycle for an old shed? some pallets? or just some wood?

From what I've gathered the house is basically just a dry space that the chucks can come back to sleep/rest in! anything else is for you...i.e. removable 'tray' for the floor - ease of cleaning out, one side complete opening - again for ease of access, Lift up lids on any nest box - quick access to those lovely eggs!!