Help and advice needed

• 19 Replies

niknik

Help and advice needed
« on: July 23, 2008, 15:21 »
Hi, I am sure this has been posted somwhere but I am new to this so please excuse me if it has.  I really would like to get two chickens but only have a small garden with about 6 foot square room for a coup and run.  Is this too small?  The chickens would be free in the garden when I am here but not all the time.  I also have a dog and cat.  Can anyone advise me as to whether there is enough room and if so what size of 'house' should they have.  Thanks in advance.

too many girls

Want to keep hens
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2008, 15:41 »
how big is your garden altogether? and how long would the birds remain shut in for at any one time?

chookiepaula

Want to keep hens
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2008, 15:41 »
Hello and welcome to the wonderful world of chickens! I personallu believe this will be fine but try to have them out as much as you can. for 2-3 hens they would need a house about 2"x3" at leaset, plus 1/2 nest boxes. Always ensure the dogs/cat cant get to them obviously but you may find they live in harmony, by cat sits and watches the hens but if they go near her she runs away! however, my dog would love to chase! Hope this helps, you may want to go on a training course if youre new to all this, however you'll also get lots of help on here.

Paula :D
Check out my training courses! e-mail me for details: Chicken Keeping Courses in Cambridge

too many girls

Want to keep hens
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2008, 15:41 »
ooh sorry, welcome.

compostqueen

Want to keep hens
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2008, 15:43 »
they love to be free and go stir crazy if confined. Mine stampede to get out in the morning  :D

niknik

advice
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2008, 20:44 »