Climbers?!

• 15 Replies

Bethslosttheplot

Climbers?!
« on: July 03, 2008, 15:20 »
Hi all

I have 'aquired' a metal pole which makes a lovely arch over my entrance path, the pole itself is rather ugly and so I thought I would grow something across it.  I know roses and clematis, passion flower etc are lovely looking and great climbers but I wondered if anyone could give me any ideas of something which I could grow suitably but was edible, in keeping with the theme?

My thanks in advance,

Beth
Its my first year....  an I am loving it!

nobby

• Experienced Member
Climbers?!
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2008, 15:30 »
hardy yams look good have nice flowers and you eat the tuber

spud1

Climbers?!
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2008, 15:33 »
bit to late this year but next year you could grow an early varity of pea or runner beans up it

GreenOwl

Climbers?!
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2008, 15:45 »
Runner beans.  Its not really too late for those.  You'll still get a crop.

Next year, sweet potatoes, runner beans (obviously), other climbing bean/peas, cucumbers, any form of trailing squash can be trained up rather than along.

I'd go for runners as they've got pretty flowers.

Bethslosttheplot

Climbers?!
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2008, 15:50 »
oooh sweet potatos... that sounds interesting!!  Didnt realise they were climbers...

I did think my problem would be the time of year but if you reckon I could get away with trying some runners I will do that and see what comes of it... nothing to loose eh!

My cucumbers are already on the plot but was going to train them up along with squash to save space, will 5' canes be enough??  Never grow them before so its a bit of suck it and see....  :lol:

Thanks you for your idea... they are very much apprieciated x

GreenOwl

Climbers?!
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2008, 16:07 »