Advice on treatment for mildew please.

• 10 Replies

Mother Earth

« on: June 20, 2008, 22:31 »
Hi this is my first year growing vegetables and i'm in a bit of a flap as my pride and joy in the greenhouse - cucumber plants have today started to show signs of powdery mildew on the leaves, now its only very small patches on a couple of leaves and it wasn't there yesterday but i know enough to understand that it's not good.

Have looked in a few of my books and i understand what has cause the problem, i started the plants from seed in my neighbours greenhouse as i didn't have one.... they have been growing well and just started to flower, last weekend i moved them into my own new greenhouse thinking i would be helping the plants (my neighbours greenhouse has a few windows broken that are patched up with wood...its quite old)....well that taught me didn't it my new greenhouse is that good when i have shut it all up in an evening there is very little ventilation, plus i may have been underwatering as i have been worrying about overwatering.

Is all lost or can they be saved?

I did read about Potassium bicarbonate being used, but i'm not sure where to get it from or what to do with it.

Sorry to flap and go on.
If you want to be happy for a short time, get drunk; happy for a long time, fall in love; happy for ever, take up gardening. (Arthur Smith)

vegikev

« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2008, 09:34 »
yes it works i use it commercially. pot bicarb is the same as bicarb soda i think. i would try 1/4 t spoon to 2ltr that should be enough to notice a difference. this is only my opinion as i have never used it on a small scale. good luck
"mission"to grow bigger veg than my brother

camster_factor

« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2008, 19:51 »
I've just discovered a couple of my cucumber plants are suffering from this so am reading around online.

Out of interest I came across this article on the which.co.uk Web site, and this bit caught my eye:

There is also some research