Growing herbs from cuttings?

• 14 Replies

potatopotato

« on: May 25, 2008, 12:46 »
Hi everyone, I know this might seem like a silly topic but I never have much luck growing herbs so I thought I'd ask advice...

I want to get a little herb patch going in front of my g/h on the plot. I've never had any luck growing herbs from seed before (they all seem to die before they're 3 inches tall! What's that all about?) so I was wondering about growing from cuttings.

This is something I've never done before so I'd appreciate advice. How big a cutting do I need from plants like Lavender, Mint, Rosemary, Oregano, Lemon Balm, etc? And when I've got the cutting, what do I do - stick it straight in the earth outside or do I baby it in the g/h for a bit? And when's a good time of year to take cuttings / plant out etc?

Thanks very much everyone!
So everybody's entitled to opinions, I open up my mouth, and s***, I've got millions! - Lady Sovereign

woodburner

« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2008, 12:56 »
When I was little I was given a bit of lavender bus, just a random bit really, I took it home stuck it in the ground and watered it regularly til it took and started growing. Then, some years later I found out that lavender is hard to propagate from cuttings, thought "pah, I managed it as a kid, it can't be that hard" and did the same thing again with half a dozen bits. Not one of them grew  :evil:

About 3" carefully strip the leaves of the bottom inch, dip the base in rooting hormone stuff, poke into a pot with a mix of sand or perlite and potting compost, water and stick it in a heated propagator. That's the basic general method anyway.  
Not for lemon balm though, just pull up a bit with some roots, and replant it. Why you want this stuff is beyond me though  :tongue2:  :wink: it's been a pernicious weed wherever I've seen it.

Same for mint as lemon balm (except for the weed bit, although you do need to stop it spreading by it's roots).