Midges & Pain

• 16 Replies

Auntie

Midges & Pain
« on: February 08, 2008, 10:16 »
Hello everyone, I am a total newbie to this site, but reading through items for many months and I can see there is a wealth of help and knowledge within. :)

HELP........
Please can anyone give me some ideas how to combat midges eating me alive, little black flies come out when it's warm, when I get warm and sweaty from digging and towards dusk and are totally attracted to me, I have tried Jungle formula insect repelant, citronella oil, lavender oil, but the little darlings just come in and bite, when they do I swell up beyond belief,  :(  I never knew something so small could do so much harm.

I was told Avon did a body cream that worked well, any sensible ideas would be very welcome.
Thanks

Rob the rake

Midges & Pain
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2008, 10:21 »
The avon product is Skin so Soft . I do a fair bit of fishing and used to get eaten alive before I started using it, so I can attest to it's effectiveness.
A million midges can't be wrong! Doesn't leave you smelling like a toilet product either, which has to be a bonus. :wink:
A calloused palm and dirty fingernails precede a Green Thumb.

wildeone

Midges & Pain
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2008, 10:22 »
I'd use jungle formula and take B vitamins or eat marmite everyday.  Me and my dad are affected in the same way and one tiny bite can swell up hugely .  I got a bite on my forehead last year and couldn't open one eye or breathe through my nose for a week!!! :shock:   Also i tuck my trousers in my socks (I know I look daft but hey it's gardening not a fashion show) stops the little * going up my trouser legs!!!  HTH but if you do get a bite take priton tablets and that will stop the reaction to a point.

Rob the rake

Midges & Pain
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2008, 10:24 »
Oh, and welcome Auntie, by the way! Mustn't forget my manners. :wink:

paintedlady

Midges & Pain
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2008, 11:01 »