Help

• 12 Replies

Philw

Help
« on: February 13, 2008, 19:12 »
Hello all, I am a newbie and am a bit stuck so thought I would seek the advice of some more seasoned veg growers.  Having converted part of our garden into a veg patch we double dug it last november and have been rotavating it regularly since, in january we rotavated in some horse manure but the soil doesn't seem to be breaking down at all, it is very heavy clay and is really sticky and remains in large wet clumps.  Is there anything I can do to dry it out and get some workable soil?  I have seedlings coming up all over my greenhouse and the way things are going I will have nowhere to plant them out!  :shock:

Thanks in advance
Phil

mumsy

Help
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2008, 19:24 »
I had clay a number of years ago & it took a few years to get it looking like proper soil, you will need to keep adding to it, plenty of compost, I am no expert, but one will be along shortly, be sure of that!!
Good Luck

mumsy

Help
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2008, 19:25 »
Oooops sorry, Welcome to the forums xxxx

dawninspain

Help
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2008, 19:28 »
I would say that it is probably a bit early in the year to hope for the soil to dry out. As mumsy said it can take several years to work on improving the soil. If practical you could always cover the ground with some plastic sheeting in the hope that it will begin to dry out underneath. This would also help to warm the soil ready for the new seedlings.

Welcome to the forums from me too.

Dawn

Trillium

Help
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2008, 19:29 »
I believe UK weather is also fairly cool and soil still wet to be getting perfect soil results at this time. Bet in another month's time the soil will look and work up better for you.