Help with planting cherry tree

• 10 Replies

jennywren1960

Help with planting cherry tree
« on: March 11, 2014, 21:19 »
Hi all, newbie here   :)
I am looking for some advice on planting a cherry tree, dad bought me the tree for my birthday at the beginning of February, it was bare rooted and because I couldn't pick it up from him straight away he potted it and left it in his greenhouse. Unfortunately dad passed away shortly afterwards and the tree has sat in the greenhouse until today when I felt more able to deal with it. It is a beautiful little tree and of course extra special to me now so need to get it right when planting. My worry is..it is now leafing up and has some blossom just opening, I am guessing it has come on quickly because it has been in the greenhouse, I want to plant it on my allotment which is quite a cold spot being in a little hollow, do I just go ahead and plant it as a bare root tree even though it has been in a pot for over a month and is showing signs of new root growth, shall I leave it in the pot and plant it later in the year when more established? Also, is it ok to just go outside even in a pot bearing in mind how cold the nights are at the moment? Sorry for the long first post!!

Mum2mj

Re: Help with planting cherry tree
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2014, 21:54 »
Hi not sure about the tree but I'm sorry for your loss x

Totty

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2014, 22:18 »
Hi, welcome to the forum,

I would suggest digging a hole around twice the depth and width of the pot and plant firmly and water in. Nothing else.
Others will probably disagree or have other ideas but by I think that by forcing a young vigorous tree to put out root in search of nutrient and moisture means it will establish itself strongly in its position more so than if you dig a great big hole, fill it with compost, manure, fertiliser etc etc and plant in that. The roots will just sit there.

Give it plenty of water in the summer this year, and a good mulch.