Ex bats first night

• 5 Replies

Honey65

Ex bats first night
« on: October 30, 2013, 13:02 »
Hi

We're collecting 4 ex bat hens on saturday.  Our collection time is 4pm and then we have an hour drive so it will be really dark when we get home.  I understand that we'll need to put them in the coop and not the run but will they be alright in the dark? I guess this may be a stupid question but given they've been living in an environment thats lit 24/7 and they won't know each other, won't this be really stressful?  :ohmy: 

Any suggestions on settling them in would be gratefully received!

Beano

Re: Ex bats first night
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2013, 13:41 »
You're doing the best thing by bringing them home in the dark. I have no experience of ex bats but I suspect that they will be calm in the dark as natural instincts kick in. When they wake tommorow morning they will be a little confusued. But as long as you make sure they are in a closed run where they feel safe and they can see where their food and water is, they will soon settle  and feel at home.
Happy days are ahead of you
 :)
El.

Honey65

« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2013, 14:57 »
Thanks Beano.  Should I put some food and water in the coop for the night?

Beano

« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2013, 16:44 »
No, there's no need. You'll be letting them out as soon as it gets light in the morning wont you? They might be a bit reluctant to come out straight away because of the strange surroundings, but thirst, hunger and most of all curiosity with eventually coax them out. You could put out a cabbage for them, once they've had some layers pellets, as a welcome treat. I might get told off for that last bit of advice  :unsure:. but I rekon they'll deserve a treat, dont you.

8doubles

« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2013, 17:29 »
Ex batts can be a bit afraid of open spaces at first so don`t be suprised if they stay around the coop or if they do have a wander they stay close to the fence where they feel secure.