Globe or Jerusalem

• 6 Replies

Fairy Plotmother

Globe or Jerusalem
« on: October 26, 2013, 13:50 »
What is the difference between these two Artichokes and how are they cooked?

bravemurphy

Re: Globe or Jerusalem
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2013, 14:11 »
globe is a flower head and Jerusalem is a tuber like a potato.

Fairy Plotmother

« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2013, 14:27 »
Thanks. Which is best/easiest to grow and/or eat? You can see I have no experience of this veggie.  :unsure:

allotmentann

« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2013, 15:26 »
Globe are a phaff to prepare, but are a delicacy and very expensive to buy. They take up a lot of space for the crop you get, but if you like them are definitely worth growing. Jerusalem can be used as you would potatoes, they are renowned for their, ... side effects! Being affectionately known by many as fartichokes! They are also fairly invasive if you grow them. To be honest I would try and sample both first before growing either. I don't like Jerusalem artichokes much at all, others love them. But because one is invasive and the other very large I would see if you actually like them first of all.   :)

Trillium

« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2013, 16:35 »
I purchased what I thought was a tall variety of coreopsis for a very dry spot around our far closethesline post. I wanted tall plant growth to deter squirrels and such.

In the past few years the plants have gotten so tall and widespread that I had to tie them to the post. This year they started working their way into the neighbour's yard so I yanked those out.... and found the edible tubers! Ironic considering over the years I've adamantly refused all offers of J.A.'s because I didn't want them starting up in my garden.   :wacko: