Weed suppressant fabric

• 10 Replies

MalcW

Weed suppressant fabric
« on: September 12, 2013, 11:01 »
Hi all.

After a lot of weeding and digging we now have a 10 rod plot that's pretty much empty, so I'm thinking that I should probably cover it with weed suppressant fabric. Are there various types? Types to avoid? Does anyone have any recommendations on where to buy it at a sensible price?

Or do you have other suggestions?

(This is my complete novice 'I don't really know what I'm doing yet' topic for September)

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Weed suppressant fabric
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2013, 12:00 »
That's quite a lot of fabric - you could consider green manure or simply leaving it fallow if you wanted (will need to keep an eye on the weeds).  Another alternative is cardboard (e.g. if you have any bike shops near you).

If you want to use fabric, go for a woven variety rather than one which is completely impermeable.  The wider the better; it means there's fewer edges for the wind to get under and to keep pinned down (you can use bricks, or large milk bottles filled with water, as well as the wire pins you can buy).

Online retailers / ebay will be cheapest but it still won't be cheap, I should think.  If it's only for this season then you don't need to go for the most expensive.  The heavier duty, the more expensive.
« Last Edit: September 12, 2013, 12:01 by Yorkie »
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

compostqueen

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2013, 13:22 »
Cardboard or manure. Manure is good as a mulch and you can always shove it to one side in spring if it's in the way, or you just plant through it