is this a bad year to be growing veggies for the first time?

• 18 Replies

3759allen

i'm a complete newbie to growing veggies, or anything for that matter. i brought a new house at the beginning of the year with lots of space so i thought i may as well try and feed the family from it, after all how hard can it be to grow things. how wrong i was. lol

anyway is this year pretty bad for everyone, or is it just me struggling. i know it takes years to get the experience needed do well in a veggie patch, but it's annoying me that most things aren't going as well as i hoped.

i do seem to be able to grow tomatoes, cucumbers, lettuce and potatoes. other than that most things are getting eaten or bolting, as well as everything being very late which i'm guessing everyone is suffering from.

Dave Mack

• Zillionaire
So far i think its been a great year for growing , i have 3 freezers nearly jammed packed ... plus about 40 odd jars of white and red beetroot , pickled onions and Gherkins ... plus lots of jams .
I done 6 different lots of spuds ... getting 24 kilo from each lot , still have 2 lots of lates to dig up in about 4 weeks or so .
It took many years of reading on the internet to do so well ... stick with it matey  ;)

Edit .... forgot to say all my broccoli bolted , so i lost the lot  :nowink:
« Last Edit: July 29, 2013, 22:52 by Dave Mack »

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
getting eaten, is something quite easy to stop - next year put nets over things  :)

Many people have reported crops being late because of the late spring, or bolting - but it makes a change to have a warm summer for a change ;)

Just keep saying, that things will be better next year, because each year is different, we just do the best we can with what weather nature throws our way  :nowink:

Salmo