Trouble with courgette and gherkin plants

• 8 Replies

Handy Andi

• Fowlers Family Allotment
Trouble with courgette and gherkin plants
« on: July 12, 2013, 09:14 »
I planted 8 courgette plants of several varieties, half a dozen gherkin plants and 2 pumpkin plants in late May, and am very disappointed in their growth. The plants all look healthy, the leaves and stems are all of a 'normal' colour etc, but they just haven't grown. At all. Most have sprouted a couple of new leaves, tiny ones, but then are just not growing. They started out under cloches for the first couple of weeks, til the weather really picked up. They're not in full sun, but the pumpkins and gherkins weren't last year either and they were just fine. They've been watered regularily and I've feed them a few times with comfrey tea. All my neighbours who are growing these have massive plants now, most with fruit or at least flowers. I've been growing these plants for 6 years now, and this has never happened. They pretty much look like the day I planted them in the ground. I manured the soil several weeks before I planted them and it's from a source I haven't used before but several of my fellow plot holders have, without any trouble, so I doubt it's that that's causing the growth problems.

Any ideas?

Beetroot queen

Re: Trouble with courgette and gherkin plants
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2013, 09:17 »
Mine seemed to do this but this last week with all the hot weather and constant watering they have romped away, i can see a difference every day now and the courgettes are in full fruit now.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2013, 09:24 »
Mine have only just started actively growing, as well  ::)

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2013, 09:29 »