Pathetic onions

• 9 Replies

shokkyy

• Mishka
Pathetic onions
« on: July 02, 2013, 01:29 »
My onions are looking truly pathetic this year. I was a bit late starting them off, but a lot of them still look like spring onions :(

At least the garlic seem to be doing well though. But so far the Iberian Wight and Thermidrome are way bigger bulbs than the Music. I've never tried Music before but have always had nice big bulbs from the other two. I was kind of expecting Music to be big though. Certainly the top growth is big on them, but unless they're late developers they're much smaller bulbs than the other two.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: Pathetic onions
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2013, 09:24 »
Give them a good feed and water, it's a bit early to judge quite yet ;)

Beetroot queen

« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2013, 10:07 »
I would wait and see till they give up altigether by turning yellow. Time yet

A Reyt Tayty

« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2013, 13:02 »
I tried Bedfordshire champion from seed last year and they were pants. About a dozen of them managed to get to set size, so I saved them and planted them as sets this year. They haven't done too badly really. A couple have bolted, but I nipped 'em early doers and foiled their cunning plan. Others have split into two bulbs. Who cares as long as they are onion flavoured? The sturon sets which I planted have done better and are bulbing up nicely. Not one bolting. Some are a bit thick in the neck tho'.

wil4025

• Experienced Member
    • Williams Allotment & Garden Blog
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2013, 15:48 »
Im so pleased with my over winter ones, they are massive.
Kind Regards
Bill

Nikkithefoot

« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2013, 18:22 »
When you say late planting how late were you? Music needs to be put in in the Autumn, and if you put them in during the spring you wont get any decent bulbs from them. Can't comment on the other two as I've never grown them.