Mycorrhizal Fungi - potential uses in horticulture

• 16 Replies

askari

Mycorrhizal Fungi - potential uses in horticulture
« on: January 18, 2013, 21:40 »
Hello Everyone, I have joined this forum for a purpose. I am studying at the Royal Botanic Garden in Edinburgh and my research focuses on Mycorrhizal Fungi. Would allotment holders use MF, I wonder how many have and what sort of results did you all see?

Thanks

Askari

Request for research help approved by John.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2013, 12:16 by Aunt Sally »

angelavdavis

• Winner - Prettiest Pumpkin 2012
  • An allotment glutton!
    • The Allotment Glutton
Re: Mycorrhizal Fungi - potential uses in horticulture
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2013, 21:53 »
I have only just started using it this last growing season. 

I have used it in planting holes when planting out plants I have grown from seed in my GH.  I have also used it when planting out fruit bushes.

The plants I mainly used it with were beans and mange tout.  I wouldn't say I did particularly notice much of a difference to be honest, but have recently taken over a new plot which has been over-cultivated so it will be interesting to see if it makes any difference there.

I manage my plot using no chemical except non-organic slug pellets and isolated glyphosate on my paths (only).  I cultivate using lasagne gardening and am probably 80% no dig cultivation. 
Read about my allotment exploits at Ecodolly at plots 37 & 39.  Questions, queries and comments are appreciated at Comment on Ecodolly's exploits on plots 37 & 39

LilacSandy

« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2013, 12:30 »
Hi,

I see no reason to use it on my allotment, I do however compost everything in sight and last year I purchased some comfrey and will be using that in a lot of my plantings.

Hamani

• I grow because I cook.
    • My blog
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2013, 13:34 »