Big Parsnips!

• 14 Replies

heygrow

• Experienced Member
Big Parsnips!
« on: November 10, 2013, 20:46 »
I've been pulling up parsnips as and when required over that few weeks. They all seem huge and I measured the latest (which is about average for all of them) and it is 19 inches long and 4 inches round at the top.
So one parsnip is enough to feed 4 good portions for our roast dinner. ::)

Not boasting (honest). It's my first year growing them, so wondered if others have similar sizes and is it due to a good summer growing season? I was a bit concerned the large size might affect the flavour, but they taste great.
They are Gladiator F1 Hybrids, sown in April directly into soil. Under a cloches for a few weeks to get them started and then thinned out.

Can I use the seed from the same packet for next year, or is it best to get new? It says on the packet "Pkd for year end 2013".

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: Big Parsnips!
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2013, 21:11 »
Gladiator are well known for growing into large parsnips. This from 4 years ago...

That "small woman" is my daughter - here's the full picture - she would be the first to admit that she's not small.

Vital statistics, (of the parsnip), - 16" long, (left some in the ground), 17" circumference, 4 lb 5 oz weight.

Parsnip seed are not known for longevity, I always buy fresh, but you could test a few by germinating on moist kitchen towel
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

heygrow

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2013, 09:47 »
Well DD that's a decent size parsnip! 8) Mines about the same length, but not as fat.
I noticed that on my larger ones they tend to split a bit.

Thanks for the suggestion on the seeds. I'll try that.

RJR_38

• www.foodinmytum.com
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2013, 19:08 »