advice for novice please

• 3 Replies

jaws

advice for novice please
« on: February 04, 2009, 10:11 »
I am new to this chicken keeping - 1 week. I bought one of the arks with the coop and nest box raised above the run and a ramp down. I have been reading this site and see hens need a perch/roost. There are two "batons" about 2.5 inches high across the floor of the coop. Are these supposed to be the perchs and are they high enough. I am happy to constuct a higher perch. Most of the poo ends up at one corner of the coop and the chickens are often huddled in that corner if I peek in at night. I don't want them getting foot disease.
If I go away for a weekend is it alright to leave the door to the coop open all night (this is enclosed in the caged area so is fox "proof")with enough food and water for a few days - in this cold weather I am thinking of putting water inside aswell to prevent it freezing. I have two 14 week old hens. I have put plenty of bedding in the nesting boxes.
Any other advice to a novice would be appreciated. Thanks
This is a grest site.

Roughlee Handled

Re: advice for novice please
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2009, 10:26 »
Welcome to the forum.
These are young birds.  If you pick them up gently (once it has gone dark) and place them on the perch, they will soon get the hang of it.  It is fine that your perch is 2.5 inches high. 
You have a responsibility to your livestock and they MUST be checked everyday. Being so young  anything could happen over a weekend.  Have you a neighbour that could check on them in the mornings or evenings?  This would also be good training for them  (THE neighbour) when you go on holiday as you can not put chickens in  kennels!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  The promise of eggs is always a good bribe. 
« Last Edit: February 04, 2009, 11:31 by Roughlee Handled »
Stuart

Dont worry I am just paranoid duckie.

If I get the wrong end of the stick its because I have speed read. Honest.

Blar blar blar blar snorrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrre.